Why UC Davis

Three years ago, I received acceptance letters from UCLA, UC Berkeley, and a few other universities. After visiting all of the university campuses, I decided to go to UC Davis. In retrospect, I am very glad that I made this decision.

As I grew up outside of the USA, many people were surprised that I chose to attend a school that is less well-known internationally. However, UC Davis stood out to me from other universities for several reasons. The first reason was its unique academic environment. I was particularly excited about UC Davis’ excellent biology and studio art programs. As a large research university located near several hospitals, I knew UC Davis would provide me with opportunities to explore my career interests in biomedical research and healthcare. UC Davis is generally known for providing a very high quality education, and this is reflected in its repeated appearance in the national Top Ten Public Schools lists https://www.usnews.com/best-colleges/rankings/national-universities/top-public. Although UC Davis’ academics are high-quality and competitive, I was attracted by the fact that the learning environment is not cut-throat. This combination of a challenging but friendly learning environment was one of the main reasons I decided to attend UC Davis.

I was also very drawn to UC Davis’ location. I grew up in a big capital city, so I was specifically hoping to go to a college in a less urban environment. The beautiful campus is located in a tree-lined, small college city with a lot of quirky charm. Although the city is small, it is diverse and has a lively downtown. It is also within driving distance to both Sacramento and San Francisco. The city of Davis itself has a friendly and unique culture, with an unusually health conscious, eco-friendly lifestyle. For example, the main mode of transportation in the city is the bicycle, and the entire city is surrounded by a circle of jogging trails and parks, known as the Green Belt. Many locals enthusiastically spend their time buying organic produce, exercising and recycling. The safe city and charming campus collectively provide a very high quality of student life, and this was another reason why I chose UC Davis.

I also decided to attend UC Davis because of its diverse student population. As with most of the UC’s, UC Davis’ student body is very large and very socioeconomically and ethnically diverse. Therefore, the atmosphere is inclusive and the university provides many opportunities for an active, social life, as there are hundreds of student clubs and ways to get involved. https://www.ucdavis.edu/campus-life/clubs-organizations/

Overall, I believe UC Davis is a hidden gem of a university that provides a rich array of academic and social opportunities. Campus resources such as tutoring, internship opportunities and academic advising resources are excellent, although they have to be pro-actively pursued. http://success.ucdavis.edu/ http://icc.ucdavis.edu/ Due to its large size and sometimes overwhelming plethora of opportunities, UC Davis is particularly well-suited for students with go-getter personalities. I can whole-heartedly recommend UC Davis as an excellent place to enjoy your college experience.

Janis Kim
4th Year Biological Sciences Major
BASC Peer Adviser

Talk to us!

