WhyUCDavis: My Aggie Experience

Congratulations on being accepted to UC Davis! You did it!! All of your hard work has paid off. Now, all that is left is the final big decision. Where will you spend the next four years of your life?

For me, UC Davis was not my top choice. Ironically, UC Davis was my last choice. I spent all of my life in Sacramento and I was eager to travel far, far away from NorCal. I wanted to move away from my parents and to enjoy the freedom that I didn’t have at home. When I was accepted to UCLA and UC Davis, it was a no-brainer. I was set on UCLA. I didn’t visit either campus or look into any programs, but somehow I convinced myself that UCLA was the perfect fit for me. (Looking back, I have no idea what I was thinking!) Several weeks later, I received financial aid packages from both institutions and was disappointed to learn that UCLA did not offer me much assistance. Financially, it was obvious that UC Davis was the better decision. Still, I clung stubbornly to the idea of moving away.

My parents finally convinced me to go to Decision Day and to give UC Davis a chance. I followed along reluctantly, determined that I would not enjoy my visit. However, as I strolled along the beautiful Arboretum and explored the giant quad, I felt my bitter resistance slowly fade away. The campus was beautiful. There was this welcoming and laid-back vibe that instantly caught my attention. Everywhere I looked I saw happy smiling faces. I loved watching all the bikers zoom by, and I was eager to join the students relaxing and picnicking in the quad. As I walked downtown, I longed to explore all the little cafes and shops lining every street. I was pleasantly surprised by Davis. No it wasn’t a fast-paced city, nor was it a busy beachside campus, but UC Davis felt like home.

I am very grateful that I chose to be an Aggie four years ago. UC Davis has challenged me academically and prepared me for my future endeavors in medical school. Entering my first year in Davis, I had very little knowledge of the medical profession and was not sure where to start searching for internships and research. I was relieved to learn that this campus had tons of resources to help students succeed. Personally, I utilized three main resources: the Health Professions Advising, the Biology Academic Success Center, and the Internship and Career Center. These resources pointed me in the right direction and helped me to stay connected on campus. Now in my senior year, I’ve had the opportunity to work with human cadavers in anatomy, to work at the UC Davis Medical Center and Shriner’s Children Hospital, and to serve on the executive board for the Bayanihan Clinic, one of the student-run medical clinics in Sacramento.

Lastly, UC Davis has given me a diverse community of friends and colleagues. I met my closest friends here on campus, and I couldn’t imagine my life today without them. There is a place for everyone here at UC Davis.

I know this big decision can feel very intimidating. But it doesn’t need to be! Explore every campus. Ask lots of questions. Trust your gut! You will find your answer. I found my home at UC Davis and hopefully you will find yours here too!

Victoria Nugent
4th Year, Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior Major
Sociology Minor
BASC Peer Advisor

Talk to us!

